My Day at the Neurologist

About two weeks ago I had an appointment with a neurologist in Nashville.  I used a sick day at work and went with great expectations of learning more about my migraines and getting answers.

The morning started out just fine and I thought I left my parent’s house in plenty of time to get to there.  But unfortunately, the traffic was awful.  And I was reminded that I hate driving through big cities.  I love visiting them and walking around, but I do not enjoy driving through them one bit.  Eventually I meandered through the one way streets and found the office.  When I got there they told me I wasn’t on the list for that day.  Apparently there was some computer malfunction.  Thankfully someone had canceled for later on that afternoon and so they were able to work me in.  I was at the doctor for a total of five hours.

I was so glad I brought along a book with me.  I almost finished Elisabeth Elliot’s Let Me Be a Woman, (which is a fantastic little jewel that is Elliot’s advice to her daughter when she got married.  It is filled with what biblical femininity means and what it means to be a wife that honors the Lord.)

At some point in between reading several chapters, someone came in and took 14 vials of blood.  She asked me several times if I had a history of passing out.  I laughed to myself and thought, “If she only knew that this is nothing to me.”  When the doctor came in, she quickly got down to business and asked very specific questions about my migraines.  I could tell she definitely knew what she was talking about and she really did want to help.  Unfortunately, we weren’t able to come up with a definite reason behind them.  But she gave me five new medications-two which are preventative and three to take when one comes on.  And I got two shots in the back of my head.  (Definitely a weird feeling, that’s for sure.)  The nurse said, “You took that like a champ.”  I simply smiled and said thanks.  I scheduled my next appointments and left the office wishing I had an answer as to specifically why they happen, but filled with gratitude that someone wanted to work with me to see these nasty migraines be no more.

I’m getting used to taking this new medication every day, and so far it seems to be helping.  I’ve had four migraines come up since going to the doctor two weeks ago, and this new medicine seems to help them not get so bad.  Spencer and I are both thankful for that.  We’ll see what happens long term.  For now, I will trust that the Lord will continue to provide and heal in His timing.  Even to go a couple weeks without having one that forces me to be in bed with an ice pack on my head and makes me get sick can be seen as a miracle.  I’m so thankful to have this period of time where they are not so bad and I haven’t had to leave work early or be bedridden for a day.

The Lord may use all of this to heal me and I may never deal with these again.  Or I may deal with these migraines for the rest of my life.  Whether the healing comes or not, God is God.   He is good and faithful and I will praise Him.  We will praise Him.  There is always something to be thankful for.

Leave a Reply

