My First Dabble in Painting

I’m not very artistic.  But I love figuring out my own ways to be creative.  We had a canvas lying around and I had a thought.  I went to Hobby Lobby and bought a pack of 2 canvas’ with a 40% off coupon (of course).  They ended up being about $5.  And I had some acrylic paint already.  So then I got to work.  It was a fun process.  And they didn’t turn out too bad.

Image

I used a paint pen for the words, which are lyrics to three hymns which were sang at our wedding.

The middle one has two lines from “In Christ Alone.”  My dear dear friend Natalie sang that during our ceremony when we had eucharist and washed each other’s feet.

Image

The one on the left has lyrics from the first verse of “Be Thou My Vision,” sung at our wedding when our grandparents walked in by our sweet friend Alice.  (Definitely definitely check out her music:  http://www.alicecalvery.com  and you can find her on iTunes.)

Image

And lastly the one on the right, sung before our ceremony by Alice, has lyrics to “Come Thou Fount.”

Image

Well that’s it.  They aren’t perfect.  But I’m ok with that.  I had fun.  And they hang in our house, and we like them.  Maybe I’ll come up with another painting soon.  We shall see.

2 thoughts on “My First Dabble in Painting

Leave a Reply

