Learning to Rest

The topic of work and rest has come up a whole lot recently.

My heart has been searching for what work I would enjoy.

Where I should work, what I should do next is a constant thought.

In our home group we have been digging through Ecclesiastes.

A recent lesson in Sunday School was about energy and the importance of rest.

The topic has been in sermons, books, articles, and conversations that have come up.

And one of my favorite artists, Andrew Peterson, released a new album a few months ago with a song called “Rest Easy.”  It simply speaks to my soul (which is the case for the majority of his songs).  Here are the lyrics:

You are not alone
I will always be with you
Even to the end

You don’t have to work so hard
You can rest easy
You don’t have to prove yourself
You’re already mine
You don’t have to hide your heart
I already love you
I hold it in mine
So you can rest easy

Do not be afraid
Nothing, nothing in the world
Can come between us now

You don’t have to work so hard
You can rest easy
You don’t have to prove yourself
You’re already mine
You don’t have to hide your heart
I already love you
I hold it in mine
So you can rest easy

You work so hard to wear yourself down
And you’re running like a rodeo clown
You’re smiling like you’re scared to death
You’re out of faith and all out of breath
You’re so afraid you’ve got nowhere left to go

Well, you are not alone
I will always be with you

You don’t have to work so hard
You can rest easy
You don’t have to prove yourself
You’re already mine
You don’t have to hide your heart
I already love you
I hold it in mine
You can rest easy

 

Last year I was working two jobs and planning our wedding.  But a few months ago I had to say goodbye to my job at Lifeway.  I loved the people I worked with; I really enjoyed the job and thought I was fairly good at it.  But with the combination of an exhausting full time job, learning how to be a good wife, and migraines, Spencer and I knew I had to step away from my part-time job there.  As hard as it was to let that go, it was needed in order to provide time for me to not constantly be working.

I’ve been known to overcommit myself and work too hard.  It has been a struggle of mine since middle school.  And now, Spencer has been teaching me so much about how to rest.  As crazy as it sounds, I have to learn how to rest.  I am constantly making lists and working on something or figuring out what I need to be doing.  I am just really aware.  I always see things that need to be done.   So it is hard to not be anxious.  Stress can easily start wrapping its nasty roots around me.   I struggle with feeling bad for sitting down or not being productive.

But my view of productivity needs to change.  I need to slow down.  I need to not work so hard all the time.

I’ve been reminded that just as work was given in the garden of Eden, so was rest.

Just as we are called to work, so are we called to rest.

We need to provide time for restoration: emotionally, spiritually, and physically.

Ecclesiastes talks about enjoying one’s work throughout the book.  Basically, if you are able to do something that glorifies the Lord and that you enjoy…go for it!  Just do it.  I’ve thought about this so much as we’ve studied Ecclesiastes.  And I’m asking myself all sorts of questions.

What do I enjoy doing?

What am I passionate about?

Where should I look for work next?

I don’t have solid answers yet.  But I’m so thankful to have Spencer to work through things with.  We can talk about anything, share ideas, and pray together.  He teaches me constantly.  He is amazingly supportive, extremely smart, and filled with humor.  I wouldn’t want to be on this journey of life with anyone else.  I am so thankful to be able to learn from him and learn with him.

I am learning to rest.

And I am learning that it is okay to do what you enjoy, to chase after dreams.

I am learning how to not get stressed, anxious, and overwhelmed so easily.

I am learning.

I know this was a random assortment of ideas and sentences.  But sometimes just writing them down helps so much.

 

Leave a Reply

