Epiphany

Epiphany.

This is such an exciting and glorious time in the church calendar.

So why is it that so few seem to know we are in this season?

My family moved around a bunch while I was growing up.  And with each move, we traveled into another church.  Denomination didn’t matter.  Therefore, I wasn’t “trapped” in a single denomination’s ways.  Being exposed to different buildings, worship services, and styles of preaching allowed me to see the beautifully diverse ways believers fellowship and worship.

But it wasn’t until a few years ago that I was introduced to the church calendar and what liturgy means.  Looking back, I can see that at least one of the churches we attended was liturgical.  I just didn’t know what that meant at the time.  No one explained it.  I just referred to it as “traditional” back then.

After being exposed to the pure beauty of liturgy, my heart seems more alive to Scripture.

A couple of weeks ago, we celebrated the baptism of our Lord found in Luke 3.

We spend months preparing for Christmas.  Believers and nonbelievers alike know when this season approaches.  And yet, it wasn’t at Jesus’ birth that He was made manifest to the people, but at epiphany, at His baptism.

Why doesn’t the majority of the evangelical church in America celebrate this season?

I can’t answer that.

But I can answer for what I am responsible for.  My family.  Spencer and I can choose to expose our future children to these seasons the church celebrates from early on.  We can choose to tell our children why it is important to pray the Psalms, take eucharist, and share the peace of Christ in fellowship with believers.  We can walk through Scripture with our children and expose them to the gospel, pray for their salvation, and walk daily in the Spirit as we teach, discipline, train, and nurture them.  We can journey through the church calendar with them, and foster their spiritual growth however we can.  And by the grace of God, we will.

Leave a Reply

